Home‎ > ‎About‎ > ‎

About Ephilei

I've gotten some questions about my personal life and identity, so here they are.

Small Talk

I was born in 1983 in Chicago and have lived here most of my life. I spend 3 and a half years getting my bachelors from Greenville College, a Free Methodist school. I work the usual 9-5 for the Salvation Army in their IT department.

What's Your Gender?

I identify as both female and male and masculine and feminine and tend to express both at the same time or neither or whatever expresses my mood for the time. I gravitate toward the center of the gender spectrum. The contemporary word for people like me is "genderqueer." We used to be "transgenderist" or "androgyne" in some circles and dozens of other words in older cultures. Mainly I am my own gender.

Have You Transitioned?

As such I can't really answer the transition question. I am living the life I want to live with a few exceptions I think are cursory. What's important to me is my acting upon my beliefs and personality authentically and openly. For instance, I go by a number of names, especially Jonathan and Johannah, but what's on my papers is less important than what friends and family call me. I'm in the process of changing the papers, but only to create a better balance. My parents' name, Jonathan, is naturally what the majority of people call me so I increase my feminine name and the legal process is a good way to do that. I'm not sure I'll ever finish transitioning. I'll find out. There is some distant family that I'm not out with, but other than them I am happy where I am.

What Else Do You Do?

Mainly trying to be like Christ. I live very simply. I'm vegan. I also operate www.genderadvocates.org and my blog ephilei.blogspot.com. I'm quiet but I adore good conversation. I cycle a lot. I like fresh air and music sometimes. You can learn even more on this map.